navwin » Archives » Teen Poetry #5 » I'm getting confused
Teen Poetry #5
Post A Reply Post New Topic I'm getting confused Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
ShadyMakaveli
since 2002-08-21
Posts 128

0 posted 2002-09-02 06:55 PM

I'm new to this whole poem writing thing as some of u may have read, i've been writing them for less than a month and i'm at about 40 poems, umm, i show them to certain people i am close with and get feedback, and i've started to post here to get outside feedback. I started posting here to get an unbias opinion as i'm sure some of my friends won't tell me what they really think. But when i showed this to someone who wasn't close to me, they asked, me a question "Why would anyone want to read ur poems?" Now that kind of sounds harsh i know, but i can't stop thinking about it, what makes poetry a form of art that is to be shared? I started writing it to express myself, and the same person who asked me that harsh question told me my poem was scary and negative, why should i want people to see that side of me, it's not something i want to stop doing, i love writing it helps me to grasp what i'm feeling, but aside from me who really cares? this is the poem i showed that person incase ur wondering:

My life always stays the same
Always a loss, never a gain
Inside I'm being eaten alive
As i struggle to survive
To my surroundings, i wish i was blind
Instead i'm left with an uneasy mind
unable to let my mind rest
I'm my biggest enemy, i must confess
Learning to change, to start a new
To face reality, that's harsh but true
I need some time and space
To fix what's wrong beyond this face

I don't know what i expect from u readers, and fellow poets, but i am close to wondering if i should continue writing, please just give any feedback u can.

© Copyright 2002 ShadyMakaveli - All Rights Reserved
Child of the Stars
Deputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
since 2000-09-07
Posts 1658