navwin » Archives » Teen Poetry #3 » Dear Mom
Teen Poetry #3
Post A Reply Post New Topic Dear Mom Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Kyle
since 2000-07-19
Posts 3

0 posted 2000-07-21 10:51 AM

Dear mom, I miss you;
Where did you go?
They told me you were just sleeping;
  sixteen years ago.

I was only three years old at the time;
I did'nt know what to do.
"You'll see her again someday", they said.
Mom where are you?

Last year I graduated high school;
I thought maybe you'd show up.
I don't know why I even imagined that;
You haven't even seen me grow up.

The reason I'm writing you;
all of a sudden.
Is because I was looking through drawers the other day;
and came across something.

An old newspaper clipping;
with your name and two dates.
Saying you had a son, three years old;
and you were dead at thirty-eight.

All these years with no mother;
just looking for some answers.
Well, now I have one and it  hurts;
You couldn't beat cancer.

But, mom let me say;
wherever you are today.
You may not be beside me now;
but my hearts never too far away!

© Copyright 2000 Kyle - All Rights Reserved
Fairy Princess
since 2000-07-19
Posts 64
Fitchburg Ma, USA
1 posted 2000-07-21 12:19 PM

Hello there! your poem is so sad, my dad also died of cancer on 12-23-99. So I know your pain. Here's my email Smile4me28@excite.com  

~*~What you see is what
you get~*~

LoveBug
Deputy Moderator 5 Tours
Member Elite
since 2000-01-08
Posts 4697

2 posted 2000-07-21 12:50 PM

I'm so sorry that you lost your mother, but this is a beautiful tribute to her. I'm sure you make her very proud.

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." -Oscar Wilde
"The robbed that smiles steals something from the thief" -Shakespea

Erin
Member Elite
since 2000-06-15
Posts 2527
~Chicago~
3 posted 2000-07-21 03:45 PM