navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » varying attitudes about friendship
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic varying attitudes about friendship Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
kaile
Deputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
Member Ascendant
since 2000-02-06
Posts 5146
singapore

0 posted 2003-02-04 01:27 PM

Nurtured in an environment where I studied, played, gossiped and ate together with my peers almost daily, I guess I never thought much about friendship. The trials of my adolescence revolved around securing the best marks for the next examination, trying to prove my manhood to the bigger boys when I was confused about my sexuality myself and trying to look suitably pleasant so that girls won't condemn me on that first glance. Of course, I did think that friends are important, for they are the ones who stand by you, even (and especially) when your own family fails to offer you moral support. But friendship wasn't a top priority in my life, not when I had other urgent matters to deal with. And certainly not when these friends were a staple in my life and I was under the illusion that friendships won't grow stale.

In addition, those civil and moral lessons must have drilled something in me because I consciously wanted to be a good person, someone that epitomises all praiseworthy qualities of being a good friend. I was a decent conversationalist and a better listener. I attended outings faithfully, regardless of whether I was on close terms with the group of people inviting me. I prided myself on being loyal. I hadn't embraced myself on many fronts but I knew that I would go all out to help a friend in need and that I would be reliable and responsible in helping him all the way.