navwin » Archives » Teen Poetry #4 » Anorexia Nervosa
Teen Poetry #4
Post A Reply Post New Topic Anorexia Nervosa Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
anonymousfemale
Member Elite
since 2000-02-02
Posts 2797
Limbo

0 posted 2001-05-12 01:39 AM

Yeah...um...I have never written a piece this honest before in my life. I have come to a realisation of some certain things. Please don't be too harsh on this one thanks.

~AF~

At an interview last week,
My principal told me I was sick.
Told me I had an eating disorder,
Told me I had to give it up.
Like I would have an eating disorder,
I truly love my food.
They'll all just jealous that they can't look like me,
I have the figure that they all want.
If perfection was a human being, that person is me.
"You can't stuff around with me, Elizabeth,
I know what you are up to."
What on earth am I up to?
I just like to exercise…
So what if I am conscious of what I eat?
So what if I don't eat when you see me?
I do not have an eating disorder!

Today I feel so cold,
I think they are tears running down my face.
I don't like this realisation,
Of seeing what I really am.
I'm sick…and yeah I'll admit it.
I don't know where I went wrong.
I am seeing J-Lo next to me,
Her arms are thinner than mine!
Reading through this web site,
All the signs are there.
I do skip meals and complain about my size,
Even though I am a size 8.
Arguing is my strong point,
I do get defensive if questioned,
And I do have an obsession with being the thinnest.

Why does it hurt when I look at my body?
Why do I want to lose weight all the god damn time?
Why is it that I hate myself?
Why can't I get this under control?
I did a test just now,
That even says I have an eating disorder.
I don't like this realisation,
Of seeing what I really am.
It's a dream.
Some stupid pathetic dream.
So many other factors are contributing to this,
My environment is why I am like this!

Who am I kidding?
It's my fault.
I have to fix this,