navwin » Archives » Critical Analysis #2 » The Sea's a Thief (my first post!)
Critical Analysis #2
Post A Reply Post New Topic The Sea's a Thief (my first post!) Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Ladybug
since 2003-06-17
Posts 236
Massachusetts

0 posted 2003-06-17 05:10 PM

The Sea's a Thief

A sinking island amidst a blood-red sea.
The tide steadily rises, yet barely retreats,
                                    --Damn the moon!
Crimson waves crash onto naked shores,
burying beaches in barnacle tombs.

The flooded earth swallows the briny poison,
choking on the bitter foam.

She holds her breath as she drifts
downward towards the seabed;

As coral blankets cover her crown,
she dreams of salvage ships and summer sun.
---------------------------------------------

Written 5/7/03 -- Longing for summer vacation, I drown in a sea of red ink... (I'm a high school math teacher, and I have no life outside of schoolwork!  Thankfully, today was the last day of school!)

Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's end...

[This message has been edited by Ladybug (06-17-2003 05:12 PM).]

© Copyright 2003 Shannon - All Rights Reserved
kadafi09
since 2003-06-17
Posts 143
California, United States
1 posted 2003-06-17 06:03 PM

Great poem
good use of personification of the island
nice choice of diction to provide equally nice imagery

Ladybug
since 2003-06-17
Posts 236
Massachusetts
2 posted 2003-06-17 06:05 PM

Thanks, Kadafi09!  I appreciate your feedback, and I'm glad you enjoyed the poem (-:

Not A Poet
Member Elite
since 1999-11-03
Posts 3885
Oklahoma, USA
3 posted 2003-06-17 08:27 PM

Hi Ladybug and welcome to the forum.

I'm not really sure where you are going with this but it looks to me like it has potential. The thing I found a little confusing was the reference to the sea as poison. I mean it does make a little sense but I would usually think of it the other way. Just a stretch for me pesonally, I guess.

Pete

Ladybug