navwin » Archives » Critical Analysis #2 » My first haiku
Critical Analysis #2
Post A Reply Post New Topic My first haiku Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Ringo
Deputy Moderator 10 ToursDeputy Moderator 10 ToursDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
Member Elite
since 2003-02-20
Posts 3684
Saluting with misty eyes

0 posted 2004-04-22 11:38 PM

The cool spring air
Lovers walk hand in hand
Spending time alone

I need brutal asistance with this. It is my first attempt at this style since elementary school and my daughter (who is learning it) will want to do some writing of them this weekend

Some people are like Slinkies . . . not really good for anything, but you still can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs...

© Copyright 2004 Bradly Stott - All Rights Reserved
Not A Poet
Member Elite
since 1999-11-03
Posts 3885
Oklahoma, USA
1 posted 2004-04-22 11:53 PM

I'm afraid you missed a little. The syllable count per line must be 5-7-5. Yours is 4-6-5. Also, the subject matter must be nature related rather than people, emotions or such.

Michelle_loves_Mike
Deputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
since 2003-12-20
Posts 1189
Pennsylvania
2 posted 2004-04-23 03:26 AM

E for Effort my man, Ive never tried a haiku, I've seen ratleader do a slew of them, my yak here is purely moral support.
hugs
Michelle

I wish all could find the true happiness I have found,,in the eyes of Mike

forne_marin
since 2004-04-13
Posts 140
Spartanburg, South Carolina
3 posted 2004-04-23 09:54 AM

First off, I have to say that is one of the most bizarre signatures I've ever seen. I laughed out loud.

Secondly--a haiku can be about anything you want it to be about. Haikus don't have to be about nature. Here's a quote I thought might help you out.

-------------------------

Modern Haiku.