navwin » Main Forums » Poetry Workshop » Help Me To Understand What Free Verse Is
Poetry Workshop
Post A Reply Post New Topic Help Me To Understand What Free Verse Is Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Paul Wilson
Deputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
Member Elite
since 2002-07-07
Posts 4711
United States

0 posted 2002-08-06 10:35 PM

I need all the help I can get.
Please tell me if I am right or not.
I believe free verse is when the poet tells a story sort of in little paragraphs step by step as it happens till the final paragraph or conclusion.
I have never written free verse before so if anyone
would care to give me some pointers I would appreciate them very much... Paul
Please help the new student I promise to share my snacks with you!!!

© Copyright 2002 Paul D. Wilson - All Rights Reserved
Bridget Shenachie
since 2002-01-23
Posts 1056
Kansas USA
1 posted 2002-08-06 11:25 PM

Hi Paul!

I'm waiting along with you for light to be shed on the subject.  I think this class has gotten a bit unruly already for Miss Nan.  Did you read all of the responses to her assignment?  I was as outrageous as the rest of the class but sometimes I just like to make a big fuss about nothing.  I even complain when I'm actually overjoyed to be learning new forms.

Shenachie  

Christopher
Member Rara Avis
since 1999-08-02
Posts 8296
Purgatorial Incarceration
2 posted 2002-08-06 11:44 PM

here are a few links to some poems i consider as good free verse poems (i included myself, heh)

Portrait - Me

The Fall of Day - Alicia

Who Could House all the Refugees... - Elizabeth Cor

A Study of Loss - Severn

Endurance Waning - Duncan

The Presence of Glass - Me (again, because it got buried with only a few replies )