navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » The Moth
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic The Moth Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Jaime
Registered
Posts 250

0 posted 2002-12-06 04:35 PM

Be gentle. It's my first time.    

Seriously, I've never tried to write prose before (does this even count?) so I'd appreciate your feedback. Thanks.

------------------------------------------------

A tan coloured moth with small brown spots flies around the lighting fixtures towards the ceiling of the bathroom. Frantically it shoots itself at the different light bulbs and away and then back again. So busy, like a bee, but not. Just a tan coloured moth with small brown spots. I vaguely remember hearing something a long time ago about why moths fly around lights outside at night. Something.. something about how they use the light of the moon for directional source to their home. Apparently, they can get confused by all of the fake "moons".

How sad for all of the moths looking for their way home, following the light, and then to be lost in the transparent jungle of darkness when the light does eventually go out. And you know, inevitably it does. It will. When I turn off the light switch I wait a few moments and listen. The fluttering and tapping sound has stopped and I can't quite feel the room breathing the way it did before. But I can feel the moth breathing. Silent. Still. Inhale. Exhale.

Leaving the room, I know that the moth will fly to the nearest light source. It will search for a light in the darkness and then flap around it lovingly. (I tried to explain to the moth, You could pass for a butterfly in the dark.) I'm tempted to turn on a lamp in the hallway in order to save the moth some trouble, even if it is an electronic illusion that will never lead him home. But then it occurs to me..

I'd hear the desolate sounds of the moth flapping his wings enthusiasticly in the swallowing darkness towards.. nothing.