navwin » Discussion » Q & A » Criticism within the forums....
Q & A
Post A Reply Post New Topic Criticism within the forums.... Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Kevin Rose
since 2000-11-20
Posts 64
Liverpool UK

0 posted 2000-11-28 03:32 PM

OK, I am a newbie to the forums, and have been reading on a daily basis for a week or more now, but there is one thing I want to ask...

I have read some excellent pieces of work, but more often than not the poems posted are "average", with more than a few being complete drivel!

My problem is this.  It seems to me that it doesnt matter what has been posted, there is always someone who replies with "excellent work" or "a truly moving piece", and hardly ever anyone saying "sorry, it just doenst work, it says nothing"

I dont know why other people use the forums, or what they expect to get out of them, but personally I would like to think that if I post something that deserves to reside in a trashcan and not on a piece of paper I would like to be told so.  If I am given false praise for it, then I am gonna continue churning out the same dross thinking that I am a good poet and that people love my work.

I am not asking for a licence to slam peoples work here as there is a thread in one section that illustrates the damage this can cause, I just want to know how far *constructive* criticism is welcomed, and how far it is shunned, whether it is best to keep quiet if I dont like a piece, or whether to limit the harsher criticisms to the CA section, if mention it at all.

I know poetry is an amazingly individual thing and it doesnt really matter if I "get" something as long as the writer feels right about what they have written, or if it connects with just one person.