navwin » Archives » Critical Analysis #1 » Please Read.....
Critical Analysis #1
Post A Reply Post New Topic Please Read..... Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Jessica
Deputy Moderator 1 Tour
since 2001-06-28
Posts 350
South AL

0 posted 2001-06-28 10:13 PM

Please tell me what you think... I have been writing for about three years... When I started I didn't mean to become serious with it but the more and more I wrote about things that bothered me the better I felt... I have been through a lot in my life and poetry is my way of escaping. Everyone who reads my poetry tells me I have a natural talent but I don't know how much of that is true. I have won several contest and have 3 publications, but I just simply want others opinions. Well, here is my most recent poem.

12:16 AM 6/25/01          Jessica

shattered dreams
wreckless thoughts
emotions lost through bitter tears
only seeing what it costs
hearts broken
in lies believed as truth
my mind's whirling
trying to pay my dues
hopes so far away
not close enough to touch
this sense that I can't change
what I longed for so much
you pulled me in this never-ending void
so help me break this silence
darkness laughs at the sun
please stop this violence
what I have become scares me
it was your fault completely
you gently jerked at my wings
until you got the best of me
that is no longer so
I have freed myself from your hell
my anger has diminished
I have now fell
can you feel it?
my forgiveness numbs you
I've learned to forgive
but to never forget what you do
forcing smiles isn't easy
I've learned this also
hiding hurt under a dark sheet
won't allow you to grow
pain swallowed me in a tide of grief
pulling and tearing at every last inch of my soul
I live with regrets
but they've made me whole
without experience
you have not lived a full life
what you suffer
is what you learn in strife
but if you dwell on your mistakes
you will drownd in an ocean of sorrow
you live for today