navwin » Archives » Open Poetry #47 » Anchored in the Gleaming
Open Poetry #47
Post A Reply Post New Topic Anchored in the Gleaming Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Nicole
since 1999-06-23
Posts 1835
Florida

0 posted 2011-12-17 10:59 PM

i am apprehensive of these bearings,
looking at them with
hesitant desire.
there is a need for change,
a tempering - and its always there now,
the low hum of requiem.

perhaps this delicate devotion will survive,
if the force of separation manages
to reduce this need down to quiet conversations;
a 5am murmur
pooled in the quiet of my ear.

a craving that curls around my belly,
teeth anchored in the gleaming;
and each small unfolding, quick catch of breath
is precious and unobtainable.
i am careless and shocked at the
pull of this ledge;
but if i have a faith
it is in the long, slow death.

i stalk about in the woods behind
our house, and blow bubbles on saturdays
i studied mathematics and logic
i write... this, nonsense
and call it poetry
and it seems my mind forces
each small parallel into some devised compatibility,
even still...

i wonder if you would catch my breath
and make me stammer,
drop your hands over me
speak in your tones, pressed to the
soft Oh of my mouth
and remark
on possibilities that leave me sleepless for days;
thoughts in wide staggering arcs,
somehow
shift
this existence, so that i might
jump when you speak, and
pray when you breathe.

© Copyright 2011 Nicole Williams - All Rights Reserved
JerryPat2
Member Laureate
since 2011-02-06
Posts 16975
South Louisiana
1 posted 2011-12-17 11:08 PM

Okay, a change is on  your horizon. But it seems to be a change just for change's sake. If not, the last two lies is the poem.

~*~ If they give you lined paper, write sideways. ~*~

OwlSA
Member Rara Avis
since 2005-11-07
Posts 9347
Durban, South Africa
2 posted 2011-12-18 01:09 AM