navwin » Discussion » Feelings » My Friend
Feelings
Post A Reply Post New Topic My Friend Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
shira
since 2000-12-12
Posts 88
Hamburg, PA

0 posted 2000-12-12 12:27 PM

Hi everyone, I'm Shira and I'm new to the BB. I write poems, and also anime fanfiction. I'm 32 and a graphic designer from PA. I saw this forum and thought I'd stumbled across it in perfect time, for recent happenings in my life have left me needing to vent.

I recently came on hard times with my husband (we are divorcing) and stumbled across a new friend on the internet. The way I found him was uncanny - he posted a message, and his post called out to me. I emailed him and we are now best friends. We message for hours daily, talk on the phone, and he will be visiting me in the spring. Connected in a somewhat spiritual way, I think. He's been with me through all these recent hard times and I for his... relationships have been tough for both of us lately.

My friend is sick, needs a heart. He's been on a transplant list for three years now, and received news last week that his prognosis is only 6 months, despite new meds which have made him feel great. I found out about this yesterday and it has ripped my heart out. The bravery he displays toward his future is unbeleivable, and I know he is right, to live every day to its fullest, but I cant help wanting to simply dwell on the bleakness of his future. And the thought of him not being there any more. I've only known him for three months, but it feels like a lifetime... like we've known each other before.. and I am not ready to give him up, not in six more months, not in a year, or two, or more. I dont think I have ever known someone as special as he. And I seem to be mourning his loss already, from the feelings that I am having.