navwin » Discussion » Philosophy 101 » Let Me Pick Your Brain.......Please...
Philosophy 101
Post A Reply Post New Topic Let Me Pick Your Brain.......Please... Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Marilyn
Member Elite
since 1999-09-26
Posts 2621
Ontario, Canada

0 posted 2001-01-24 12:14 PM

Maria raised a question in frac's thread. (paraphrasing) "If something is broken down enough doesn't it become nothing?"

I am just a primary student of physics but isn't this where conventional physics and quantum physics separate? The convential scientist believes that the smallest anything can be broken down to is an atom but the quantum scientist believes that you can go smaller. Is this a correct assumption or am I totally off base with my understanding? (Thinking of quantum physics in the area of brain function and personality. I have read....am reading...Roger Penrose's "Shadows of the Mind". Not grasping all of it but am trying.)

© Copyright 2001 Marilyn - All Rights Reserved
Brad
Member Ascendant
since 1999-08-20
Posts 5705
Jejudo, South Korea
1 posted 2001-01-25 07:12 PM

Well, last time I checked the conservation principle was still in place. Physically, nothing is ever reduced to nothing, it just changes form.

Are there still scientists who believe that we can't go further than the atom? Scientists concentrate on certain aspects, certain levels -- from astro-physics to molecular to quantum but I don't think they disagree on the productivity or the necessity of quantum physics.

I don't know this book. What's it about?  

Brad

fractal007
since 2000-06-01
Posts 1958

2 posted 2001-01-25 07:58 PM

Wow!  I am sorry I did not get to this thread earlier.