navwin » Discussion » pipTalk Lounge » Working at home
pipTalk Lounge
Post A Reply Post New Topic Working at home Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Skyfyre
since 1999-08-15
Posts 1906
Sitting in Michael's Lap

0 posted 2002-03-22 11:34 PM

Here is my situation:  I live in a small town, population about 5000.  Due to its location in the mountains of central California, my hometown has pretty slim pickings in the way of business; the biggest employer in town is the local state prison (yikes!) since Enron (the previous to employer) went under.

Pretty much since I graduated high school, in and out of college, I have been working in the restaurant business since it is a ready source of daily cash.  Since 9/11, though, the restaurant business has taken a pretty hard hit (at least where I live) and that coupled with some recent and recurrent car troubles has landed me pretty much taking two steps back for every step forward in my current job.  Added to that, for some reason my boss has hired more employees, reducing hours all around, and the dismal nature of things begins to be revealed ...

To top it all off, I'm just getting too old for this business.  I dread going to work every day, and that just isn't good.

So, given the lack of any meaningful or adequately paid jobs in the area, I have started searching for things I can do at home.  I have always been leery of "work at home" programs, since many of them are basically scams wherein you just market the work at home scheme to someone else and tell them to market it to make money and so on ... and ripping people off is NOT what I want to do for a living.  Other schemes want you to market products as a sort of middleman. I'm not much of a saleswoman -- in fact I'm not a saleswoman at all -- so any investment I put into that sort of thing might as well be thrown to the fireplace as kindling for all the good it will do.