navwin » Discussion » pipTalk Lounge » NEED Your Help - Where can I learn how to write slam/spoken word poetry?
pipTalk Lounge
Post A Reply Post New Topic NEED Your Help - Where can I learn how to write slam/spoken word poetry? Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
zinc
since 2010-08-07
Posts 2

0 posted 2010-08-07 03:39 AM

Now I'm just going to preface this by saying that I am a noob in terms of writing poetry and I'm sure my question (that is, how to write "slam poetry") will be answered with "learn how to write poetry, period" but I just had a few questions about that.

Many (slam) poets that I've heard in interviews said that certain pieces they write are simply not meant to be performed, some like Shane Koyczan suggested to "work backwards when writing a performance piece" and sometimes he "feels" whether a piece will work or not, implying that when trying to write a performance piece it doesn't always work.

So basically my question is do you recommend any books on helping a beginning with writing poetry that may also have a section, or advice, on writing performance pieces like that of spoken word?

© Copyright 2010 zinc - All Rights Reserved
Grinch
Member Elite
since 2005-12-31
Posts 2929
Whoville
1 posted 2010-08-07 03:26 PM

Hmm..

I've listened to some slam poetry, Shane Koyczan being a particular favourite of mine -  anyone who can describe politics  as "A Latin word consisting of two parts - poli meaning many and tics meaning blood sucking butt lumps" deserves to be listened too.

Listening to slam poetry I'd have to give you the answer you were pretty much expecting, to learn it you need to learn poetry because the two are one and the same thing. Shane Koyczan uses all the devices used in written poetry and all written poetry, the best written poetry, only comes alive when read aloud. So your question should be "how do I write poetry suitable for a slam poetry event".