navwin » Archives » Teen Poetry #2 » Valentine's Day Sonnet
Teen Poetry #2
Post A Reply Post New Topic Valentine's Day Sonnet Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
jcthaman
since 1999-11-27
Posts 22
Hershey, PA, USA

0 posted 2000-02-07 09:42 PM

hello all...this is my first attempt at writing a sonnet, but i had to try after reading shakespeare's works...this is for my girlfriend (i'm 15)

As I sit here on my bed,
this peaceful valentine's eve,
thoughts of you fill my head,
and it makes me believe
that you were meant for me
and we should be together.
I've never seen such beauty,
I want this to last forever.
I've never met someone so perfect,
and with you I feel so good.
How this ends I can't predict,
I'd give you the world if I could.
       I pray that this love is true,
       All I want is to be with you.

think she'll like it?

© Copyright 2000 jcthaman - All Rights Reserved
Jer
since 1999-12-02
Posts 443
USA
1 posted 2000-02-07 11:25 PM

Good job. There are no spelling mistakes in this one! LOL. You get an A+ in my book at a great attempt on a love sonnet. You have all the necessary parts to Shakespearean sonnet (14 Lines consisting of three quatrains and a concluding couplet. Just be sure to watch that rhyme scheme.) If you want to talk about this more e-mail me.  I know a lot about Sonnets. There are really only two styles and I think you may like the other.

"WRITING IS EASY. ALL YOU DO IS STARE AT A BLANK SHEET OF PAPER UNTIL DROPS OF BLOOD FORM ON YOUR FOREHEAD." Gene Fowler

poetry_kills
since 1999-12-04
Posts 549
new orleans
2 posted 2000-02-08 12:12 PM

jcthaman: i think she'll love it (if only i was so assured about my girlfriend's response to my sonnets)... the sentiment actually reminds me of one of my own (especially the line about lasting forever)... this is really extremely well-done for a first attempt at a sonnet...