navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » The Music Box
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic The Music Box Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Bluesy Socrateaser
Member Elite
since 2002-11-07
Posts 2417
In The Mirror

0 posted 2014-01-19 11:22 PM

I found it lying far out along the tree line.
A box made of tin, with what were once colorful painted patterns on all sides, but one. It had a weighty feel and along the bottom there was a winding crank. I studied it for a moment, and then twisted the lever a bit. To my amazement, the box began to play a tune! As it did, the top slowly opened and a ballerina rose to her feet and started to twirl!

Listening to the tune and watching the ballerina dance began to have a calming effect on me, easing me into an almost hypnotic-like trance that took my mind off the task I had yet to complete.

Gradually, the music from the box settled into a very gentle waltz and the pretty ballerina stopped with grace, bowed herself to me and the box then slowly closed.

"A few more shovelfuls should do the trick", I said to myself.

Not to worry.

Once again, I reached for the crank on the little music box.

...just bein' Bluesy

© Copyright 2014 BluesyTunes - All Rights Reserved
OwlSA
Member Rara Avis
since 2005-11-07
Posts 9347
Durban, South Africa
1 posted 2014-01-20 02:39 AM