navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » Mom of Mine
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic Mom of Mine Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Alison
Deputy Moderator 5 ToursDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
Member Rara Avis
since 2008-01-27
Posts 9318
Lumpy oatmeal makes me crazy!

0 posted 2013-03-11 02:11 AM

As I sat at my Mother's bedside and held her hand today, I realized that I didn't know temples could sink into the skull.  They can.  I studied my Mother and thought that she has never looked more beautiful.  She does not agree.  She has not seen herself in a mirror for months, but she has seen her image in my camera.  

She is my Mother and allows me to take pictures when I know she not comfortable with the thought.  She smiles for me, and there is a twinkle in her eyes.  We look at the picturs together and I delete the ones that she detests.  She allows me to save a few, knowning how important they are to me.  She is my Mother - and that is what she does for me.  

I am the child left behind, the "you are it" child.  I am the one who has been at my Mother's side for the last few years.  We shopped together on Saturdays.  I took her to her appointments.  We went for drives to obscure hamburger joints and Thai food restaraunts that were a hundred miles round trip in the middle of nowhere ... because that is what we liked to do.  Sometimes, we would laugh together.  Sometimes, we would fight.  Sometimes, we were silent.  Yet, we were (and are) always together.