navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » A long winter's night
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic A long winter's night Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
SeraphimBroken
since 2009-03-09
Posts 74
USA

0 posted 2010-01-13 04:00 PM

This is my first try at posting in this section. I have just started to expand my writing practices, so please be gentile lol. I wrote this, over a wellspring of emotions that I had to let out, little knowing what later on that evening would mean to someone else in an entirely different situation.

Hours after I posted this elsewhere on line, I came to know my niece's step grandfather finally passed away from Alzheimer's after suffering with it for many years. I went back to read this after hearing the news and it struck me. It's hard to realize, that words from one, could mean something so deep to another.

"I can't seem to stop the snow falling on my face. Cold, with each light feathers touch, gently caressing my blushed cheek. I can smell the crisp whisperings of the breeze of incandescent white in the night light. It's beauty, mesmerizing to the eyes of the soul. Calm, serene as it falls, gently into my warm waiting hand. It's icy cold embrace, giving me chills that freeze the once melting of my cold, brittle heart.
    Brittle it becomes, with each passing of a perfectly shaped concentric star, forming the edges of memories on my heart with their bitter chill. I reach inside to embrace and warm that of what shapes me, as it beats in my fingers, pulsing memory after memory, like a beat of a past distant drum.