navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » Postcard
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic Postcard Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
UniqueFreak
since 2004-01-09
Posts 62
Scotland

0 posted 2004-05-08 08:39 PM

hey people....heres a task i had to do for my creative writing exam (1st yr student at uni) let me know what u think!

I’ll always remember that day. It was an hour to go until ‘the big event’. That’s what the guards called it anyway, like it was something I should look forward to. That’s when it all happened. I woke up and a strange postcard was lying on my bed. It was anonymous, and old looking, but it reminded me of life outside. As I studied the postcard thoroughly, the photo seemed to depict all that life was for me in cell 711, and all that it wasn’t.

There were trees, and grass; sheep grazing in the distance, free to wander wherever they pleased. The skies seemed to go on forever. No doubt birds roamed the heavens, exploring the world from above, but even they couldn’t see into my world. Sat in my 4’x 4’ cell all I could see was the same four walls I had been staring at for the past 30 years of my life. I felt like an unwanted gift; I was trapped in a box, waiting for someone to tear it open. My imagination was the only freedom I had left, the only thing they could not take away from me. But even that had been tarnished.