navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » Lost sons.
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic Lost sons. Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
merc
since 2003-10-15
Posts 35

0 posted 2003-10-20 08:41 PM

This is my first time over in the prose forum although I have spent some considerable time in the ca forum recently. This is a postcard story (under 500 words) that I just recently wrote and am hoping for some more feedback on it.

ALL criticism is welcome, if you hate it please do not hesitate to tell me.  I only ask that you justify hating it so I may fix the problem.

Thx.

Lost sons

The sun glinted dimly across the windshields and mirrors of thousands of cars, each crossing back and forth on its own uncertain path.  Billboards nailed to the sides of buildings overlooked the haphazard journeys of the cars and their occupants, and the overwhelming hammering of city life pounded at any last refuge of silence that might exist.  A continual line of souls, each carrying their burdens under bowed backs, flowed like a river along the street, the ever watchful eyes of the billboards falling on their burdens, making them all the heavier.
In the midst of all the concrete towers and traffic, the stoic grays and the hurried yellows and reds and browns, was a tarnished incline of white marble steps.  At the foot of the cold stone, once marvelous in it's brightness and splendor, sat a solitary man.  No one would listen if he spoke, no one would join him where he sat and no one tried to climb his steps.  Always he was there, just as the steps themselves were always there, both existing despite their lack of use.