navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » Cool Universe I
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic Cool Universe I Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
mirror man
since 2001-01-08
Posts 814

0 posted 2003-07-03 07:49 AM

Cool Universe
by
mirror man

Chapter 1

A long, long time ago, in a universe far away, there once was a kid named Abnorman.  He lived on Planet Cool.  
     Planet Cool has been under scientific observation for a long time.  We humans can observe it from our own universe, using telescopes and radiometers, and by observing the returning echoes of really cool TV shows, shows such as Captain Video, the Avengers, the Bionic Babe, like that.  They are so cool.
     I have been observing Planet Cool myself for the last 40 years.  I’m what is known as a Zenohistorian.  I specialize in Planet Cool.  Which is where I come in.  I’ll be telling you Abnorman’s story.  Not just because I’m familiar with it.  Anyone could tell you Abnorman’s story; so what.  But because I’m a professional.  I mean, if I were getting paid for this.  Which would be nice, but I’m not going to get into it.  But anyway, I’m a professional.  And so bound by the ethics of my profession.  Which is cool, unbiased reporting.  And humility.  And of the facts.  Facts are important, yes.  What can I say?  I’m good.
     So, to continue:

Despite living in a cool house, eating cool food, and generally doing all the cool things that made a kid cool -- and despite anything else he might have done or imagined he did that was cool -- Abnorman himself was not cool.
     The main reason for this, but certainly not the only reason, was that he was born green.
     He knew this because Mama Cool told him so.  “Oh, you were so cute,” said Mama Cool.  “You looked just like little Baby Broccoli.”  So Abnorman was the first Broccoli.