navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » Cochlear Implant Story Last modified July 2.
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic Cochlear Implant Story Last modified July 2. Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Jaime Fradera
since 2000-11-25
Posts 843
Where no tyranny is tolerable

0 posted 2003-07-02 08:28 PM

For background on this story visit the National Federation of the Blind at: www.nfb.org

I will begin this piece by claiming to have no pearls of knowledge and no clinical credentials.  I don’t even have a job just now, making me one of the 70 percent.  Although I have been a student not just once but twice here at the Colorado Center, I am not perfectly adjusted to blindness and deafness.  Most of what will be presented here will be familiar to seasoned Federationests.  However, as we go through the routine minutia of our daily lives, it may be easy to forget that the greater disability community, and the sighted world in general, still does not know what we know.  One remedy for writer’s block I sometimes try is the aphorism: write about what you know or, failing that, write about the person you know best.  There is an incredible lack of information about the use of cochlear implants by deaf-blind people on the Internet, at least first-person accounts, perhaps because most deaf people are sighted.  It is for this reason that I decide to write and post my experiences using the Nucleus-24 cochlear implant.  Although using the implant is now easy and routine for me, I don’t know if my experience is unusual or typical.  If you are an implant user, or know someone who is, your comments are invited and welcome.