navwin » Discussion » Feelings » In need of support -- please read
Feelings
Post A Reply Post New Topic In need of support -- please read Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Kamala
since 2003-04-17
Posts 59
CA, USA

0 posted 2003-05-21 05:39 PM

Well, I'm only a newbie here at Passions, but I've seen how supportive all of you can be; and right now I could use some support.

I have been living with my mom for two years, since she moved back from Costa Rica to the States.  During that time, I've seen her moods go up and down but mostly she's had a consistent underlying depressive tendency.  Last year, thinking that she would feel better once she had a place of her own, I decided to go in on buying a condo with her.

Needless to say, it hasn't helped and she has actually continued to get worse.  I guess it should've been obvious before that nothing material would ever be enough, but I was just trying to do all I could to make her happy.  

Well, I recently (2.5 months ago) started dating someone, and she instantly had issues with him (even though he's phenomenal).  I think it had to do with territoriality and the fact that I wasn't devoting all of my time and energy to her anymore.  In response to her increasing passive aggressivity and general negativity directed at me (us), I decided that it would be best if I moved out.  

[Here I find it necessary to note that I had been talking to her about 'needing my own space' since last Nov. -- way before my current relationship started.]