navwin » Archives » Open Poetry #23 » The homeless vet
Open Poetry #23
Post A Reply Post New Topic The homeless vet Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
paladin
Deputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
since 2001-08-05
Posts 930
Pensacola,Fl.

0 posted 2002-11-09 01:37 PM

Grey hair tied up in the back
Walking with a slight limp
All he owns is in his pack
Just another old useless gimp

It was not always this way
Once he was tall,and brave
He had a family and job with pay
Lost them all as an alcolol slave

Life caught in a downward spin
Tortured by the dreams of the past
Seeing the faces of long dead men
Showing his card to cars passing fast

"I am a homeless vet,will you please care?"
People sometimes even give him some change
All he really wants is his fair share
He's only different and that makes him strange

Please help these poor lost souls.They once defended your right to be free.Some of them were broken in spirit.They deserve more than just being cast aside.

paladin

© Copyright 2002 Robert E. Jackson - All Rights Reserved
Gentle Spirit
Member Patricius
since 2000-10-09
Posts 13989

1 posted 2002-11-09 01:44 PM

Paladin you have touched deeply about an issue that saddens me so terribly and outrages me at the same time.  Your words are very effective and your statement rings loud and clear.  Thank you, very much for this.
garysgirl
Deputy Moderator 10 ToursDeputy Moderator 5 ToursDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
Member Laureate
since 2002-09-29
Posts 19237
Florida, USA
2 posted 2002-11-09 01:57 PM

Robert, thank you for speaking out on an issue that many don't, for some reason....possibly their own fears of rejection?!? Anyway, I thank you for your words in your poetry. I can tell that all of it is very close to your heart.
I'm proud, Sir, that you are from my home town (or what I call my "home town". I was actually born in Alabama, but lived in Pensacola most of my life.)