navwin » Archives » Open Poetry #20 » From Dust To Death (Asbestos - the silent killer that killed my father)
Open Poetry #20
Post A Reply Post New Topic From Dust To Death (Asbestos - the silent killer that killed my father) Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Suetang
Member Ascendant
since 2001-03-07
Posts 5187
Melbourne, Australia

0 posted 2002-04-17 11:24 PM

Asbestos began claiming victims
From as early as '65
If only they had heeded the warnings
Then so many would still be alive

They knew of all the dangers
Yet they allowed them to work away
Now all we are left with are our memories
And in a cemetery many victims now lay

Their killer attacked them in silence
As it slowly invaded their lungs
The first symptoms were not so alarming
But their long battle had only just begun

My Dad was one of the victims
For he was a carpenter by trade
So skilled in his chosen profession
Many beautiful things he had made

He was taken away so cruelly
Sadly I watched him facing death
Every day when I came to visit him
I'd wonder when he'd take his final breath

I lost such a very big part of me
On the day my father died
Now I am left with only my memories
And the love I hold deep inside

My daughter is now without a Grandpa
And I am without my dear Dad
So very often I fondly remember
All the treasured times we had

My father remains with me in spirit
And he is finally free from his pain
There are no winners in this terrible tragedy
And the compensation is such a pitiful gain

It hurt me to write this but I wrote
it on behalf of all the families who
have lost or are losing their loved
ones due to the effects of asbestos.
My father was diagnosed with mesothelioma
(cancer contracted through use of asbestos)
in January 1999 and was given 6-12 months
to live, he died on 30th May 1999.

We lodged a claim for compensation and
won two days before Dad passed away
but this did little to ease the pain
and suffering of losing him.Since then