navwin » Archives » Critical Analysis #2 » O Laptop, My Laptop (Villanelle)
Critical Analysis #2
Post A Reply Post New Topic O Laptop, My Laptop (Villanelle) Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Streen
since 2001-11-28
Posts 169

0 posted 2002-09-29 02:17 PM

O laptop, with nimble speed galore,
do zip and data-ize finesse,
which makes one want for thee, amor.

Thy simple chip, I can rapport,
smooths thy screen with slight caress,
O laptop, with nimble speed galore.

Statistic host, you wrap my core,
With bus and cpu, noblesse,

Thine LCD and thine decor,
doth turn my life much to success,

May virus knock upon the door,
thou still all JPEG's do fluoresce,

Now I all other life abhor,
Thou run all programs, my largesse,

---------------

This is my first attempt at the villanelle form, and I wanted to do something quirky by juxtapositioning the modern age computer stuffez with antiquated language and form. Did it work out? (I think perhaps that some of the thou's and thine's get a little cheesy, can ye give any help for that? Or do they work out right?)

[This message has been edited by Streen (09-29-2002 02:20 PM).]

© Copyright 2002 Derek Benz - All Rights Reserved
Robtm1965
since 2002-08-20
Posts 263

1 posted 2002-09-29 03:53 PM

What I think Streen is that you wrote a hilarious poem!

You took what is an extremely difficult form and picked near impossible starting rhymes, and then somehow made it through to the end without losing coherence - nearly losing it, but not quite.  What makes it even more amusing is the fact that villanelles are usually used to deal with subjects of great gravitas, often death for instance. (Dylan T's great villanelle is a good example).  You have taken the form and as you say mixed a contemporary subject with archaic language in a form which is "inappropriate" and with amazingly challenging rhyme.

Brave brave man (woman?), but well done!  You followed the rules well.

Rob