navwin » Main Forums » Passions in Prose » Sixty Three Hours In Darkness
Passions in Prose
Post A Reply Post New Topic Sixty Three Hours In Darkness Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Jeffrey Carter
Deputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 TourDeputy Moderator 1 Tour
Member Elite
since 2000-04-08
Posts 2367
State of constant confusion!

0 posted 2000-05-07 12:04 PM

This is my first attempt at writing a short story of pure fiction.
Any feedback you could give would be greatly appreciated.
All my love,
Jeffrey

Sixty Three Hours In Darkness
Memoirs Of An Earthquake Survivor

It had turned out to be quite a wonderful week. In spite of being trapped in an elavator for two and a half hours during one of the worst blackouts in California's history. Power outages were reported from Sacremento to Los Angeles. In spite of all of that it was still turning out to be a wonderful week.

After all, I had just gotten a promotion ( which came with a nice fat raise in my salary. ) I had all my Christmas shopping done three weeks early, and I had gotten engaged to the love of my life. I'd say that was a pretty good week.

Little did I know that life as I knew it would soon be over....

I was in a rush so I thought I'd take the LA Expressway home. It was four thirty in the afternoon so , of course , traffic was jam packed. It was almost like the scene you always see in the movies where everyone is trying to leave town at the same time. That was when my life started to change.

There was a sudden rumbling vibration in the air. At first I thought it was my old Volvo about to leave me stranded again. Until the guy in front of me slammed on his breaks.  My life flashed before my eyes for the first in a long line of times to follow over the next sixty three hours.