navwin » Archives » Critical Analysis #1 » Yearning
Critical Analysis #1
Post A Reply Post New Topic Yearning Go to Previous / Newer Topic Back to Topic List Go to Next / Older Topic
Marilyn
Member Elite
since 1999-09-26
Posts 2621
Ontario, Canada

0 posted 1999-10-01 10:07 AM

This was a challenge given to me by Isis. She challenged me to write free verse which I have never written before. I would like to know how I did.

Yearning

Oh, my soul aches.
My heart cries.
To need something
Just to breath
To feel your touch
Kiss your lips
I am lost.
Find me in this fog.
Take me away
Throw away these ties.
Take me
Where the moon never sleeps.
Where hearts reign.
Touch me
Feel me
Love me.

[This message has been edited by Marilyn (edited 10-01-1999).]

© Copyright 1999 Marilyn - All Rights Reserved
Trevor
since 1999-08-12
Posts 700
Canada
1 posted 1999-10-02 01:14 AM

Hello there young lady ma'am. Here's my humble opinion of your first free verse poem. Any smart ass remarks I make aren't meant to be malicious....in fact I hope you can chuckle about them....kinda makes critiquing a little easier for me....it's not always a fun task telling someone honestly how you feel....so I'll try and keep it light....I hope you don't mind....like I said, please don't take offense....just trying to get my point across with a little smart ass humor

"Oh, my soul aches.
My heart cries."
This phrase has been whipped to death in my opinion, please let it sleep for another hundred years until it becomes original again.
"To need something"
Too much of a non-descriptive and unnecessary line....we find out you need something on our own by the following lines.
"Just to breath"--do you mean breathe?
Breath what and why? Why is it just to breathe if you really want the other stuff....you say just to breathe yet you go on about a lot of other stuff.
"To feel your touch"